Activities & News


Share On

AIUB Computer Club (ACC) – under the guidance of the Department of Computer Science of American International University – Bangladesh (AIUB) has organized its 3 daylong event “CS Fest 2016” commencing from November 22 till November 24, 2016.

Mrs. Nadia Anwar, the Hon’ble Vice Chairman, Board of Trustees and Vice President –Student Affairs of AIUB inaugurated the opening ceremony on 22 November, 2016 at 10:30 am at the FSIT Building premises. The Hon’ble Vice Chairman visited the various activities and exchanged views with faculty and students. Prof Dr. Tafazzal Hossain (Vice President, Academics and Dean, FSIT), Prof. Dr. Charles C Villanueva (Pro-Vice Chancellor, AIUB), Registrar, Deans from different faculty, Directors, Department Heads, faculty members, high officials and students of AIUB, Members and representatives from numerous organizations were also present on the opening ceremony.

More than 800 participants from different faculty of AIUB, different schools and colleges participated in this event. Participants competed in various categories like App Concept Presentation; App Showcasing – Mobile/ Web/ Desktop; Poster Contest; Idea Prototyping (HCI); Programming Contest – Intra AIUB; Programming Contest – ACM, Networking contest; Interdepartmental Mathematics competition; ICT Quiz, College / school project showcasing.

In the closing session of CS Fest 2016, a prize giving ceremony was held at AIUB Auditorium on November 24, 2016, where Honorable Vice Chancellor Dr. Carmen Z. Lamagna handed over the crests and certificates to the winners. On this occasion, Prof Dr. Tafazzal Hossain (Vice President, Academics and Dean, FSIT), Prof. Dr. Tazul Islam (Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences), Prof. Dr. A B M Siddique Hossain(Dean ,Faculty of Engineering), Registrar Prof. M. A. Quaiyum, Mr. Mashiour Rahman (Director of Faculty of Science and Information Technology), Mr. Manzur H Khan (Director of Student Affairs), Dr. Dip Nandi (Head of Computer Science- Undergraduate Program), Dr. Tabin Hasan (Head of Computer Science-Postgraduate Program), Mr. Abhijit Bhowmik (Asst. Professor & Special Assistant -OSA), Mr. Sharfuddin Mahmood (Asst. Professor & Special Assistant-OSA), Md. Saef Ullah Miah (Asst. Professor & Advisor of AIUB Computer Club)  and other faculty members of computer science department were present in the ceremony. The event ended by a cultural program organized by AIUB Computer Club (ACC).

The mega event was sponsored by software development organizations “Therap (BD) Limited” and “Dynamic Solution Innovators Ltd.”. Besides, Media partners were “Kaler Kantho”, “HIFI Public” and Radio Shadhin 92.4 FM .